Kamille S Sfz

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Oakville, Ontario

Told me I owe 7000$ after my insurance had my vehicle sent for estimate

Carstar Canada - Told me I owe 7000$ after my insurance had my vehicle sent for estimate
They offered to waive the storage fees if I agreed to have my car fixed with them when they damaged my car. However, they never contacted me to inform me whether my estimate was approved or denied. They then attempted to charge me $7000 for storage while I was waiting for my insurance to deal with my claim. They said they would take $400 off the storage fees for the damage they had done to my door. Now, they are refusing. I have pictures of their mechanic causing the damage. I also have all the text messages showing Carstar offering the money off for the damage they had done to my car and all the messages showing how they talked me out of getting my car repaired with them. How can they charge without letting the customer know?
View full review
Cons:
  • Carstar should contact if storage fees apply

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Don’t go to car star

Joanna S Drn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Woodbridge, Ontario

Bad post-collision repair

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I do not recommend CarStar 401 Mississauga! I left there my vehicle for post-collision repair. The repair was done BADLY and they refused to correct it. Moreover,the running boards were damaged at the body shop and they removed them without my permission,they didn't return still usable parts (aluminium parts) to me,they threw them away. Don't leave your car at this body shop!Avoid this location as far as you can!
View full review

Preferred solution: I want they give me the parts of my car they removed.

User's recommendation: Avoid this body shop!

Xu Y Kis

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Saint Catharines, Ontario

Bad experience with carstar st.catharines

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Carstar Canada - Bad experience with carstar st.catharines
Updated by user May 21, 2023

noboby contact me. they don't care

Original review Apr 21, 2023
When Car Star St.Catharines repaired my car, it was parked outdoors for 2 snow days without installing the rear glass or covering it! After reinstalling the glass, it still leak! They said to detail clean the car, but it was still very dirty. This is the working attitude and repair level of car star st. catharines
View full review

Preferred solution: 1000

User's recommendation: Love you car? I won’t go again

Patrick G Yvz

Very very bad reparation.

This company have no respect of the warranty, please go at another place if you need good reparation and a good service.
View full review
Loss:
$2000

Preferred solution: Fix the problem.

Matt J Dkc
map-marker Windsor, Ontario

Employee Compmaint / Verbal Abuse

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Hello , I am a Parts Delivery Driver in Windsor,On & I would like to make a complaint about a Car Star Windsor Employee unfortunately I didn't get his full name but he is older guy in office balding on top if his head ( he sits at cubicle behind front desk ) his first name is " Dominic " . He screamed at me and called me " a *** *** " Friday February 11th 2022 when I showed him where part was I dropped off parts just like he asked ... all I said to him was I've told 3 people where the 1 part was and if anyone put parts in wrong place this week because that was first time I had been there this week .. Then when I was walking back to my truck he pulled down his mask and screamed " hey your being a *** *** .. with another carstar employee outside .. and I pulled my phone out to record him & as soon as he seen me pull phone out he went running back inside shop If there are car star windsor cameras in back you can clearly see him yelling at me for doing EXACTLY what he wanted. I think this is totally unprofessional and absolutely unacceptable to do and to use that kind of language in the workplace and just in general as I am doing My Job and to be called something like this is ridiculous. I believe some sort of action could be taken against this employee as it is place I deliver to regularly and shouldn't have to worry about being called those names while I am working trying to provide for my family . Thank you I look forward to hearing from someone and some sort of action to be taken before I have to go any further.
View full review
Cons:
  • Employees yelling at delivery drivers

Preferred solution: Apology

RandiLee S

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Lethbridge, Alberta

Shoddy Work

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Carstar Canada - Shoddy Work
Carstar Canada - Shoddy Work - Image 2
If I could 0 starts i would, Did work on My truck, and they *** it up no care about peoples safety on road. Even when they know you have kids and take 3 times longer then they should, and don't check over there work. Put lives in danger, were supposed to replace rim from accident of tire falling off and the pics REPLACED rime THE TIRE WITH". "REPLACED
View full review
Loss:
$1500
Cons:
  • Are incompetent
  • Bad work
  • Very bad

Preferred solution: apology, full refund, and loss of work cost as well as cab fair

Anonymous

Update

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
ShockedCarstar is a shoddy business that does bad work. They refused to fix their bad repair that was supposed to have a life time guarantee. Their life-time guarantee on repairs is worthless sales pitch. These people are rude, and do not stand up to what they advertise. Insurance companies recommend Carstar because they cut corners and do poor repairs that are cheap and save time and materials. The cost savings is passed on to the Insurance Co at the client expense. Our Government is just as much to blame because they know this is happening in the insurance industry and do nothing. Don't call the BBB because , the BBB is funded by the people who have the BBB sticker on their website and in their window. The BBB in Canada actually PROTECTS bad businesses by playing down the complaint and not actually doing anything for the client. Worthless BBB! Canada needs a Ralph Nader to start exploiting these terrible companies in Canada that take advantage of people.
View full review
Loss:
$10
Cons:
  • Dont stand up to guarantee
  • Very bad
  • Cheap repair that wont last

Preferred solution: Warn others of this terrible business

User's recommendation: Never us CARSTAR CANADA for car repair or body work, body damage repair, especially Carstar Lasalle, or Carstar Windsor, they are both owned by the same crooks. Only get Carstar Canada if you hate yourself and want to suffer.

1 comment
Guest

They do not deserve any stars.

Terry S Zkg

Terrible work! Wont stand behind their guarentee!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
About 5 yrs ago, Carstar Lasalle/ Windsor Ontario repaired my pick truck box from an accident claim. My truck is and was spotless, rustproofed new and regular oil spray, goes to Florida for 3-4 mos/yr so it is in excellent shape with no rust. After 5 yrs, the repair spot ( they used green putty) has lifted and is bubbling and a big hole where they worked on it. This is the ONLY spot on the truck with rust. Problem 2, I have taken the truck to their shop on the request of the insurance company Intact (they are not much better to deal with) 3 times in the last month and Dennis Carlini the manager will not call me back about the problem. The clerks at the front desk ( the gauntlet) will not give me his phone number so I am stuck wasting my time trying to get anything done. Welcome to Canada where these types of crooked businesses do repeatedly shoddy work. So much for their "lifetime guarantee" worthless talk and false advertising. I guess they think we are just going to forget about this , like blind sheep going off a cliff! There is no quality work and nobody wants to do their job including Dennis Carlini. This CARSTAR ruined my truck for good, this rust is like cancer and can never be fixed properly now it has started. Early death to my truck which is going to cost me $85,000.00 for a new one. Carstar is a terrible business and should not be promoted by the insurance companies. I have a couple of experiences with them now and both horrible. The work is terrible and the customer service is just as bad having to fight with them to fix it properly. I would rate this company negative stars but you have to give them a minimum of one star which is still way too much then this company their protocol deserve. This Carstar company is just plain DISHONEST!
View full review
Loss:
$85000
Cons:
  • Bad work

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Dont get Carstar unless you hate yourself and want to suffer more!

1 comment
Guest

Your website wont let me log on to do the review of complaint. My email is good but it seems it wont take my password.

Here is the follow-up to the problem with Carstar Body shop. The franchise owner Dennis Carlini, discussed the shoddy repair with me at the vehicle and initially agreed that the rust problem was a result of their work or improper preparation or finish of the job since there is no other significant or similar rust on the vehicle. Only the spot where they fixed it. The initial accident repair involved repairing a "kinked panel" on the pickup box off-center from the top of the wheel well on both sides.

I presume that the proper way to repair this according to Carstar's Dennis Carlini is to grind it out and put body filler plastic ( green body filler in this case) in the damage area. After talking with other body shop people, they say that filler in these areas could cause premature rusting and that the proper fix is to use metal or replace the panel. I am of the understanding that this Carstar repair was performed in a sub-standard fashion in way to save money for the insurance company Intact Insurance. After several conversations with various Insurance and body shop people, the consensus is that Insurance companies operate on a profit percentage basis and to reduce repair costs by hiring out to cut-rate body shops who do less than first quality repair is a way to maximize profits at the consumer's expense.

So, ultimately, the client or consumer pays the price for the shoddy repair work in the way of major inconvenience, extra cost and a vehicle that is worse that before it was brought to them. After much discussion of the problem with Dennis Carlini, he accepted fault in the shoddy repair. Initially, he agreed that the repair by Carstar is rusting out, causing bubbling of of the metal panel and paint work at the previous repair sites. Dennis wanted to know when I could bring it in to them to fix and I responded that "only a fool goes back into a burning house" and that I would be a fool to let them try to fix it properly again since I have had only but bad work performed by Carstar.

I mentioned that Marcels Collision had to repair some of the shoddy work that Carstar did on the lower panels when they painted over the oil spray and improperly repaired the lower panel joint and the paint was falling off within 2 months time. The Marcel correction repair cost me $875.00 from my own pocket at that time and has no signs of failing after 5 years. Dennis then suggested that I take it to Marcels and have them fix it at Carstars expense but he would have to do his own estimate on the repair of the repair. I received the repair estimate from head office and they are going to cover the outer sheet metal repair only.

They are not willing to repair the rust hole caused by whatever they did on the adjoining panel. The inner and outer panels join at the repair spot and this is the only place on the truck where the this rusting out is an issue. I believe as other body shops have told me that the area of repair was either improperly prepared or improperly repaired which caused the rust at this location. The present problem is that in Dennis discussion, he said that he would fix it properly or have Mark at Marcels fix the issue.

I have received the Carstar estimate and they do not want to cover the adjoining panel.

I will go to Marcels and find out how much it is to fix the shoddy repair properly. Please attach this reply to my previous emails.

ivan s Wey

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

In the future look for an other shop that does not lie & fix the repair properly

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
What concerns me is the thought that others bring their accident damages to a Carstar shop &;;;;;;;;;;;;;; will experience the incompetence , lies & and; negligence that I received . HARD TO BELIEVE BUT TRUE. My car was rear ended ,my insurance recommended CARSTAR. Carstar promised to have my car ready in 10 days,they took 72 days and I had to bring it to anther shop to fix all their mistakes,including finding the unibody was bent doors & trunk would not close. They even painted it the wrong color. The worst was they went to court as witness for the insurance company to say the car was in an accident before .[IT WAS NOT} The but Carstar idiots had no paper work just their lies. I won because I had paper work proving to the court that Carstar people were liers. Be caucious if you go to a Carstar shop ,I would not let them paint my garbage cans,they would probably screw that up.
View full review
Loss:
$2500
Pros:
  • Are good liers
Cons:
  • Are incompetent

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

1 comment
Guest

They are a very bad company

Patrick M Med

Avoid these scammers at all costs

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
At Insurance company s direction I took my 2011 Corolla to the Peterborough, ON Carstar, after a minor gender bender the work was fine, what wasn't good was being contacted months later regarding a $250 deductible, which I found odd as my TD policy is $0 deductible. I was finally threatened by a mechanics lien and forced to pay this phony charge. I'm a single parent with a disabled child and found it galling to be extorted in this manner 12 days before Christmas, by these *** Living in a smaller city word spreads quickly about businesses that cheat their customers, and this is only the start of my spreading the truth about Carstars reputation here.
View full review
Loss:
$250
Reason of review:
Problems with payment

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Wenda V
map-marker Port Colborne, Ontario

Truck repair gone bad.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Went to carstar to fix my truck last October 2018 They were 3 weeks late then they said would be done. Said they were going to pay for the days they were late with fixing my vehicle with the car rental ,not only did i get a call from enterprise 9 months later that they refuse to pay for the rental and said to bill the me when they said to the insurance company they would pay but also they left tools in the back of my truck, screwed up my lights, panels were loose and electrical problems started so i had to bring it back again. Poor customer service and thanks for the bill of the rental car they are a joke and i do not recommend them to anyone.
View full review
Loss:
$1000
Cons:
  • Being hit with rental bill 9 months later
Reason of review:
Problem with delivery

Preferred solution: Pay the rental company as they promised.

Carlotta Yxg

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Toronto, Ontario

Imperfect paint job, tire wheels incorrectly installed, delays, unprofessionalism, incompetence, bad decision making - while do an auto body job on my BMW.

Updated by user Dec 02, 2013

December 2 2013 - I was reimbursed for the money and time spent getting my car fixed after taking it to Nick's CarStar by Sam Saccoia, an owner of the shop. I consider this matter now resolved.

Updated by user Nov 09, 2013

November 8 2013 - As part of the insurance repair job with Nick's CarStar my BMW was supposed to have a wheel alignment. My car's handling was not what it used to be, so I took my car to Altech in Etobicoke and paid for a laser alignment myself.

What do you know the alignment print out showed the "camber" and "toe" were completely out of alignment, especially on the left side where the car was struck. Interesting, because if an alignment was done properly when Nick's Car Star had outsourced it to whomever they sent it to, everything should have been fine (it has only been a couple of months). The mechanic at Altech who has 20 years experience assured me that an alignment lasts even with changing of summer and winter tires within the year. Sam Saccoia who is co-owner of Nick's CarStar had called me, so I called him back with the recent developments.

He sounded concerned enough and apologetic enough reach a compromise. I will update this Pissed Consumer Report if and when I get reimbursed for the costs of repairs to fix Nick's CarStar's errors, and for my time and effort spent doing so.

Original review Oct 08, 2013
August 6 2013 - Took my 2006 BMW 330i to Nick's Carstar on Doverscourt Road, Toronto. It was hit by a truck and sustained damage to the rear trunk lid, left passenger door, left rear tire rim, and scratches to the driver side door. Frank, who manages the auto body shop said he could fix the damages with a time line of about one week. Aug 13 2013 - It has been one week and Frank called to say that the left rim was out sourced to company that specializes in grinding down rims, but he was not happy with the results so he sent it bak to be resurfaced, he's not sure when car will be finished. Aug 22 2013 - Frank called to say he is happy with left rear rim, but had to now paint front left to match. As well, now he is having trouble with door locking with FOB and door handle lights not working after the autobody guys put new left passenger door in. He has sent car to BMW dealership in the township of Vaughn! What?! There are several BMW dealerships in Toronto and Missisauga. He never did explain why my car was driven so far out of town unnecessarily, and to a BMW dealer I have no personal relationship with. I am incensed. The insurance rental is coming to an end (max $1000 while my car is being repaired). Nick's Car Star "feels bad" and has me get a rental for the weekend "on us". Aug 25 2013 - My car is still at the BMW dealership in Vaughn. apparently when the old man Nick (at least 75 years old) went to pick up my car, there were still issues with it remotely locking. BMW has now diagnosed it as having a bad actuator. Hmmm, wonder how that happened? The part wouldn't be in until later or the next day. Again Frank "feels bad" for all the delays. Aug 27 2013 - I pick up my car from CarStar, and go over the paint job quickly because I have to get to the hospital in Brampton where my mother has gone after developing a fever from her chemo treatment. I notice that a quarter tank of gas is gone, and the car has been drive about 84km!!! I point it out and I get $25 off my deductible. I leave the shop. On my drive up the 410, my car goes into "limp mode". That means the vehicle automatically decelerated from 120 km/her to 80 km/hr with a red warning light and displaying the image of a thermometer with water below it. I'm like what the *** is happening now. The car has been out of my possession for 21 days, and I get it back for 20 minutes and it is dying on me. I manage to get to Brampton Civic hospital, but know that I'll have to tow it back to Toronto. Now I am suspicious of what Nick's Carstar has done to my car. I check out the paint job in detail and realize very quickly that their are several "fish eye " imperfections in the paint job they've done. As well, they did not fix the trunk lid! The scratches to the lid where still there. I call the insurance appraiser and notified them of the paint issues and the "limp mode" issue. He advised me to tow the car back to Nick's Carstar and he would meet me there the next day. After a hospital visit with my Mom, I got CAA to take my car to the shop at 2:00 a:m, and leave it there overnight. I met with the appraiser at Nick's Carstar at 11:00 a:m that morning. The appraiser agreed that the fisheyes needed to be sanded out and Cogeco would pay for it. They didn't agree with the auto body shop being responsible for the limp mode issue. I scheduled a date for the paint job to be fixed with Nick's carstar, then (again) I had my car towed to a repair facility that I knew would diagnose and fix my car quickly. The problem it turned out, was a broken water pump that had leaked out all the anti-freeze. The broken water-pump issue was probably unrelated to anything Nick's CarStar did, but I'll never know. Sept 2 2013 - Third time driving car since I got a new water pump, and notice strange sound coming from left rear tire. Car also does not mechanically feel the same as it did when I first drove it from the mechanics. Unfortunately, I was on my way to work at 7pm at night, so I decided I would take it to my trusted mechanic in Missisauga after my 12 hours shift in the morning. Sept 2 2013 - I start driving my car on the Gardiner Expressway to Mississauga, and have to get off immediately, after not only a warning lamp of a tire issue shows up on the dash, but the noise from the left rear tire is scary at higher speeds, and the car does not feel right. I take the side streets all the way to my mechanic in Mississauga at Tomken and Derry Rd. I am floored when my mechanic tells me that the left rear wheel and the and the front have been been reversed! The wheels are different sizes in the front and the back of most BMW 3 series. Not only that, the wrong torque was used on the left rear wheel, hence the entire wheel could have fell off and that's why it was so noisy and not feeling right!!! CarStar had put the tires on in reverse either accidentally or on purpose. If it was accidentally they are incompetent in even the simplest job an autobody shop should be able to do, if on purpose they are a--wipes who absolutely deserve this review and all the others they are going to get from me. My mechanic put the wheels on correctly for me. I drove to CarStar and told them about the wheels being put on in reverse, and the wrong torque being used. I told it to Frank and to the old man Nick. I said to old man Nick that had my wheel fallen off and I survived the accident I would have sued him for everything he had and his shop would be gone. He said "well it's time to retire anyway". That's the level of professionalism this place has. Sept 10 2013 - Went to Nick's Carstar to have the the imperfect paint job that the did corrected. They said I should leave the car, but I said wasn't going anywhere, and I would wait. Old man Nick said I'd be there all day. I said not if they wanted to have a good day I wouldn't. Three hours later, the trunk lid, and all the fish eyes where sanded and buffed out of the paint and I was consulted as part of the process and finally satisfied with what should have been done in the first *** place. I waited about 3 weeks to post this review in case I had to go back to Nick's Carstar for any other problems that may have arisen with my car resulting from their incompetence or maliciousness. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this autobody place to a 10 year old with a beat up bicycle. The CARSTAR name should be ashamed to associate itself with this low level of workmanship. Cogeco should also be ashamed to have Nick's Carstar on its roster of auto body shops. I've told both organizations about my experience, and they said they would look into my complaints. I won't hold my breath.
View full review
25 comments
Guest

Hey thanks for the info. Now I know where not to take my car. ,)

Guest

Hey msjag416, what a f*ked up experience. That's why I hate leaving my car with unfamiliar body shops and mechanics.

They are all low-life's similar to the garbage guys who learned the basics of how to pick up trash, but leave the front of your house a mess.

I have to come up with a device that will let us remote monitor our car with a 360 view from our smartphone or computer, so that we can keep an eye on these idiots and see what they are up to when they have our vehicle. Then we can publicly shame the f*ckers on Youtube!!!!

Guest

Pretty scary stuff!!!! I went to Glenn's CarStar in Nebraska years ago and they did an alright job with replacing and painting the back end of my car.

Then one of my cousins went in there for a auto body job, and they totally screwed up on the paint finish. Guess it's who these bozos hire and teach how to do things.

Seems like they can be pretty inconsistent with the results. :( :( :(

Guest

Hey manny ! You should move if you don't like the area , or Mabye get a job instead of staying on your veranda all day on your phone doing illegal stuff .

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-740930

Why should I when that *** you are with likes being with me all day doing illegal stuff while you work at a *** show job.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-742503

Manny learn to speak english, or mabye you should just go back to portugal !

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-744404

Go back to italy or the Toronto jail you have spent most of your life in you *** bag. The whole neighbourhood hates you and that eyesore shop.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-742503

you dont even know me ??? or the neighbourhood ?

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-742503

the toronto jail ???? lol ok where the *** did that come from ? didint know i was a jail break lol.

Guest

Hello this is Sam Saccoia, owner of Nick's CARSTAR, and I have been in contact with msjag. I firstly apologized for the issues and inconvenience we caused and am working with msjag to make things right.

We have been in business for over 40 years and our top priority has always been to take care of our customers and provide quality repairs.

When I heard of msjag's concerns, I was very upset and immediatley contacted her to find a resolution. I understand how msjag felt, was happy that she returned my call and we were able to discuss the situation.

Once again, I apologize for the trouble and appreciate the opportunity to make things right.

Sincerely,

Sam.

View more comments (24)
Author Xyo

PERFECT

April 2014. My car's bumper was minimally damaged. Nick's Carstar was able to retain the original bumper and the work they did was fantastic. The service from everyone at the front desk and the shop was friendly and helpful. The work was great -my car looks completely flawless. The time efficiency was great - my car was ready a day earlier than expected, which saved me money on the rental car. They kept in touch with me along the way and took the time to let me know what was going on with my car. I recommend Nick's Carstar fully.
View full review
1 comment
Guest

I find it hard to believe that CARSTAR does any good work, a monkey could put a bumper on its like 4 bolts. Yahooooo ! You are the only one to say anything good, what did they pay you to post this thread?

Brands Related to Carstar Canada

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article